Eveleen Murphy – MFA Graduate, 2013

Eveleen Murphy, Reoccurring Nightmare 1990, acrylic on board, 46 x 37cm

Eveleen Murphy, Reoccurring Nightmare 1990, acrylic on board, 46 x 37cm

I make abstract paintings. For me it is all about process or the physical act of painting. I work intuitively with a sense urgency. Improvisation is important and I’m not conscious of the outcome and need to be continually surprised. It is this surprise that creates momentum and in turn informs my decision making process. With my current efforts I’ve opened up these spaces to a new dialogue, by working more hastily and unconcerned with previous marking. I attempted to bring an immediacy that is honest and brutal. My interest lies in the ability to balance visual opposites, from the garish, tacky, and glitter to chalky abstractions. My work could be deemed awkward and unseemly, whilst appearing scattered with undefined inconsistencies and outcomes that appear inconclusive yet to me are satisfying.

Posted by Eveleen Murphy. Website here.

Eveleen Murphy, The Way I See It, acrylic on board, 54cm x 41cm

Eveleen Murphy, The Way I See It, acrylic on board, 54cm x 41cm

Eveleen Murphy, The Way I See It, acrylic on board, 54cm x 41cm

Eveleen Murphy, The Way I See It, acrylic on board, 54cm x 41cm

Eveleen Murphy, Excess, acrylic on expanding foam with plasticine on brick, 45 x 34 x 26cm

Eveleen Murphy, Excess, acrylic on expanding foam with plasticine on brick, 45 x 34 x 26cm

Eveleen Murphy, Bits And Pieces, acrylic on board, 54 x 41cm

Eveleen Murphy, Bits And Pieces, acrylic on board, 54 x 41cm

Leave a Reply

